» «

Award for Diversity and Inclusion

2018 Recipient - University at Buffalo ... Video Recap

2017 Recipient
- Bowling Green State University ... Video Recap

2016 Recipient
- Northern Illinois University ... Video Recap

2015 Recipient - Colorado State University ... Video Recap

2014 Recipient - Georgia Regents University ... Video Recap

2013 Recipient - North Coast Athletic Conference (NCAC) ... Video Recap

The award, established through a partnership between the NCAA and the Minority Opportunities Athletics Association (MOAA), is designed to recognize practices, initiatives and behaviors that embrace diversity and inclusion within intercollegiate athletics. NCAA or MOAA member institutions, athletics departments and conference offices are eligible to receive the award.

Key characteristics of award winners may include:

  • Focusing on the importance and the benefits of managing diversity, equality and promoting a culture of inclusion.
  • Raising and deepening awareness of equality and diversity issues, from both an employment and service provision point of view.
  • Providing mentoring opportunities and programming internally or externally.
  • Supporting inclusion- and diversity-related educational and professional development opportunities.
  • Implementing creative and inclusive work policies to support the needs of a diverse staff.
  • Fostering an environment that celebrates differences.
  • Contributions in the last year for innovative initiatives that affect the organization internally or externally.

Distinguished Service Award
The MOAA Distinguished Service Award acknowledges and honors the effort of an individual who strives to promote understanding and appreciation of diversity in its multitude of forms.

2017 - Stan Johnson, MOAA
2016 - Dr. Bernard Franklin, NCAA
2015 - Lee McElroy, RPI
2014 - Sean Frazier, Northern Illinois
2013 - Alfreeda Goff, Horizon League
2012 - Clint Bryant, Georgia Regents
2011 - Myles Brand, NCAA
2010 - Mike Cleary, NACDA

Charles Whitcomb Service Award
The MOAA Charles Whitcomb Service Award recognizes and celebrates the individuals and administrators that foster diversity and inclusion within the intercollegiate athletics community.

2017 - Charles Whitcomb (posthumously)

Founders Grant
The Founders' Grant was introduced to assist MOAA members with their attendance for professional development opportunities, including but not limited to the NACDA & Affiliates Convention Week. In an effort to support the development of its members in accordance with the mission and objectives of the Association, MOAA is proud to offer two grants, to one male and one female member of MOAA, each in the amount of $1,000.

2018 - Mar Bactol, University of Puget Sound, Gail Barksdale, Sonoma State University & Darnell Smith, University of Central Oklahoma
- Marcus Brown, Indiana University & Taunita Stephenson
- Terrence Lollie, Binghamton & Angie Torain, University of the Incarnate Word
2015 - Will Baggett, Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl & Melisa Cruz, CSU Bakersfield
2014 - Taurian Houston, postgraduate Intern & Sandra Merchant, Cincinnati

Rudy Keeling Postgraduate Scholarship (Learn More About Rudy)
The Minority Opportunities Athletic Association (MOAA) offers up to two $2,500 postgraduate scholarship to a minority administrator who plans to pursue an advanced degree with the intention of furthering his/her administrative pursuits within the intercollegiate athletics industry. The inaugural award was given in 2014.

As the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Commissioner, Rudy Keeling was the first African-American ever to head a major sports conference, a position he held from 2007 until his retirement in January 2013. He was also a former member of the MOAA Board of Directors.

To make a donation to the fund, click here.

2017 - Juliana Smith, University of Oklahoma and Stephon Fuqua, The Ohio State University
2016 - Darnell Smith, University of Central Oklahoma
2015 - Natasha Oakes, Missouri Western State University
2014 - Andrea Williams, Big Ten Conference