» «
April 1, 2003

Inaugural Division I-AAA ADs Association Scholar-Athlete Teams Named

Cleveland, Ohio -- The 20 winners of the Inaugural Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association Scholar-Athlete Teams were announced this week by the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association (DI-AAA ADA).

"All of the nominees, and particularly the winners represent the talent and dedication of the student-athletes at Division I-AAA institutions," said Ken Kavanagh, coordinator of the Division I-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete Team Selection Committee and athletics director at Bradley University. "They are excellent choices to receive this annual award."

Basketball players from all Division I-AAA ADA member institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or important reserve with legitimate athletics credentials. He/she must have reached sophomore athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. He/she must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at his/her designated position.

Additionally, from the Scholar-Athlete teams, one male and female student-athlete were selected as the Division I-AAA Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Receiving the women's honor was Kristy Loiselle a senior at the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay, with a 3.84 GPA in elementary education; while the men's award went to Michael Lindeman, a junior at Creighton University, with a 3.92 GPA in finance.

A special Review Committee of Division I-AAA athletics directors was responsible for selecting the winners. Completing this task were Peg Bradley-Doppes, UNC-Wilmington; Pete Carlon, Texas-Arlington; Gary Cunningham, UC-Santa Barbara; Jeff Fogelson, Seton Hall; Tom George, American; Bill Husak, Loyola Marymount; Ken Kavanagh, Bradley; Pat Meiser-McKnett, Hartford; and John Planek, Loyola-Chicago.

Now in its second year, the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance initiatives common to its Division I-AAA membership (the 90 Division I institutions that do not sponsor football), in particular, aspects related to their flagship basketball programs. The Association is administered by NACDA, which, now in its 38th year, is the professional and educational association for more than 6,150 athletics directors, associates, assistants and conference administrators at more than 1,600 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. Through its series of management seminars, clinics and workshops and publication of the bi-monthly magazine Athletics Administration, NACDA offers educational opportunities to its members. More than 1,200 athletics administrators annually attend the NACDA Convention. Additionally, the Association operates the NACDA Directors' Cup program, which honors the all-sports champion in each of the NCAA Divisions -- I, II and III -- and the NAIA, for a total of four trophies.

Men's Scholar-Athlete Team
Greg BabcockWisconsin-Green BaySenior3.74Public Administration
Clint CuffleEvansvilleJunior3.77Engineering
Joshua DanielTexas-ArlingtonSenior3.73Public Relations
Brody DerenCreightonJunior3.62Exercise Science
Jon LarranagaGeorge MasonSenior3.38Public Administration
Michael LindemanCreightonJunior3.92Finance
Brad McKeiverCampbellJunior3.97Trust Management
Kevin MitchellTexas-Pan AmericanSenior3.57Marketing
Brett StarkeyDenverSenior3.96Biology/Pre-Med.
Maurice YearwoodLong IslandSenior3.69Finance
Women's Scholar-Athlete Team
Sara BaileyBradleySenior3.33Psychology
Katryn CostenbaderAmericanSenior3.83Psychology
Sara EsidoreQuinnipiacJunior3.77Computer Information Systems
Alexis HendersonXavierSoph.3.96Communications
Sarah KustokDePaulJunior3.74Communications
Tiffany KyserIUPUISenior3.71English Education
Cherie LeaUNC-WilmingtonSenior3.47Mathematics
Kristy LoiselleWisconsin-Green BaySenior3.84Elementary Education
Ann MimmNiagaraJunior3.86Education
Carey SauerSan FranciscoJunior3.88Mathematics

- nacda -

Laurie Garrison
  Assistant Executive Director, Communications
 440/892-4007 (Fax)
 E-mail: lgarrison@nacda.com
 Web Site: www.nacda.com