» «

(Wednesday, June 13, 10:45- 11:15 a.m.)


NACDA's 24th annual Convention was conducted at the Anaheim Hilton in Anaheim, California, June 4-7, 1989. Frank Wells, president of Walt Disney Company, ignited the Convention with his heartwarming Keynote Address. A special rJACDA luncheon was held to salute collegiate Olympians who medaled in the '88 Summer GauJes in Seoul. Jay Randolph served a guest speaker whi]e the incomparable Jackie Joyner-Kersee delivered the Olympic response. The James J. Corbett ft.ward Luncheon, always a highlight, dubbed ECAC Commissioner Scotty Whitelawas the Corbett Award recipient. Former Corbett winner Carl Maddox garnered the r~IT-rlAcDA Athletic Directors Award and receiving special accolades was Pete Rozelle, retiring IWL Commissioner, who also served as the luncheon's guest speaker.

No sooner did newly-elected President Jack Lengyel bang the gavel to adjourn the 1989 Convention than the Management Institute was staged under the direction of Broward Community College AD, Rex Brumley.

The NACDA-NATA Sports Law Seminar, held in Dallas June 11, reported a record-smashing 804 athletic trainers in attendance. Glenn Wong led a series of discussions concernip~ steroids, drug testing, liability and sports medicine.

The NACDA Foundation internship program has continued to welcome college students with an interest in athletic administration. During the past year, six more f.tudents have served as interns with the national office.

The seventh annual Kickoff Classic, played on August 31 at the ~leadowlands, featured defending national champion Notre Dame and the upstart Caveliers of Virginia. The Irish jumped out in front and cruised to a 36-13 victory, earning ~~ quarterback Tony Rice the \jilliam J. Flynn Outstanding Player Award for Lou Holtz and company.

In autumn, NACDA joined the nation's smaller colleges to offer a workshop for the NAIA-Athletic Directors Association. Glenn Wong was asked to speak once again, educating the l50-plus administrators in the area of sports law.

The Division I-A Directors Association met for its fourth annual meeting in October. Under the chairmanship of Mike Lude, AD at Washington, the directors listened to the likes of Dick Schultz and Steve Morgan of the NCAA and Gene Corrigan of the Atlantic Coast Conference. Hot topics for the conference were cost containment, image of college athletics and Federal legislation.

As an added bonus to the Division I-A meetings, the first-ever Delta Scholar-Athlete Awards Luncheon was staged to honor outstanding Division I-A students. The brainchild of Homer Rice, chair of the Division I-A Mission and Values Committee, Delta Airlines sponsored the upbeat affair, which saw Penn Ste.te's Jim Martin and Nebraska's Virginia Stahr win the inaugural honors of Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

In December the NACDA Foundation continued its sponsorship of fall workshops with a Corporate Sponsorship Seminar. Held on December 6-7 at the Orlando Marriott, the Seminar was staged in conjunction with the annual Athletic Business Conference. San Diego State's Fred Miller enlightened the group on Division I strategies for securing corporate funds, while Southern Mississippi's Lou Marciani covered the college division and the NCAA's Merrily Baker handled the women's point of view.

The Mid-Winter Meeting was held at the Marco Bay Resort in Marco Island, Florida on February 4-6' 1990. The Officers, Executive Committee and other necessary parties convened to produce an outstanding program for the Silver Anniversary Convention.

The annual Facilities & Fund Raising Clinic was held in Denver April 1-2, 1990. Its success is due in large part to the efforts of Diane \~endt, associate AD/Marketing and Development with the University of Denver.

In the April issue of Athletic Administration rlAcDA President Jack Lengyel officially welcomed Rick Minch, former public reJations director for the Cleveland Indians, as r.;ACDA's first full-time director of communications. Minch will take over duties as managing editor of Athletic Administration and will also coordinate press releases and serve as media liaison during the rIAcDA Convention. -

When all was said and one for 1989-90, our membership numbers once again rose, this year to the tune of 1,400 institutions and 3,100 individuals.


Please offer a moment of silence for the following members who passed away this year:
  • Lyles Alley, Furman University
  • Ross Armstrong, Chadron State College
  • Emory Baer, Valparaiso University
  • Bob Calahan, University of Detroit
  • Captain Asbury "Red" Coward, U.S. Naval Academy
  • Leo Harris, University of Oregon
  • Ruth Helsel, Wittenberg University
  • Brad Jones, Georgetown University
  • Art Keller, Carthage College
  • Elliot Loughlin, U.S. Naval Academy
  • Walter McLaughlin, St. John's University
  • Walter "Duke" Nelson, Middlebury College
  • Billy Joe Pace, Vanderbilt University
  • Samuel Porch, Glassboro State College
  • Ray Ride, Case Western Reserve University
  • Steve Sebo, University of Virginia
  • Edward Steitz, Springfield College
  • Vernon "Dutch" Triebwasser, Mt. Hood Community College
  • John Duke Wells, Henderson State University
  • John Yovicson, Harvard University


    Mr. President, ladies and gentlemen, the nominating Committee move the following slate of Executive Committee members and Officers for the 1990-91 year:
      President- Frank Windegger, Texas Christian University
      1st Vice President -Sam Jankovich, University of Miami
      2nd Vice President -Bill Byrne, University of Oregon
      3rd Vice President -Jim Jones, Ohio State University

      University Division, District 3- Jim Copeland, University of Virginia
      University Division, District 4- Gene Smith, Eastern Michigan University College
      Division, District 1- Larry Boyd, Framingham State College
      College Division, District 4- Bob Rosencrans, Wittenberg University
      College Division, District 6- Margo Harbison, East Texas State University
      Junior/Community Colleges, Districts 1/2- Bob Thompson, Bergen Community College
      Junior/Community Colleges, Districts 7/8- Bob Dinaberg, Santa Barbara City College
      At-Large Representative, District 1- Mary Miller Carson, Boston College
      At-Large Representative, District 3- Ann Marie Lawler, University of Florida
      At-Large Representative, Unrestricted - Jim Lessig, Sun Belt Conference
      At-Large Representative, Unrestricted - Steve Hatchell, Orange Bowl